Eight Auspicious Symbols

8 Signs Collage

Tibetan Buddhism makes use of eight symbols of good fortune to embellish sacred art and architecture and also to decorate secular household objects. These auspicious motifs are said to represent offerings made by various deities to the Lord Buddha upon his enlightenment. Whether they appear on a temple wall hanging or on quotidian items, these signs are seen as part of the spread of Buddha Dharma across society as a whole.

Photographed at Sangeling Monastery near Tawang: (L) Golden Fish – signifies fearlessness and complete freedom like that of fishes as they swim through water; (C) Parasol – represents protection (shown here alongside the golden Wheel of Dharma); (R) Lotus Flower – embodies the full blossoming of compassionate deeds.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: